Hi internetz!  I kind of got sick of tending to all of the chores of the Internet for a while (partially due to the daunting task of dealing with the lack of space in my flickr account…which I’ve been avoiding) and needed a break from blogging.  However, today I made a sandwich that I couldn’t keep to myself.

I have no idea where this little bit of logic came from (about the apples and the tofu), but the results were delicious.  I decided I wanted a toasted sandwich with an avocado-Dijon spread for lunch – something along the lines of what I created for an article in our university paper.  It was a delightfully easy sandwich made from lettuce, tomatoes, sprouts, red onion, and seasoned, pan-fried tofu slices.  The spread was just mashed avocado and Dijon mustard.  The problem I was having today though is that I am currently not eating any soy products in an attempt to figure out if I have a soy allergy.  So, no tofu.

So why not apple slices?  I started by making my avocado spread, with the intention of putting lettuce, cucumber and tomato on it, and calling it a sandwich.  Then, this nagging little voice told me to look over at the fruit bowl.  The textures and flavours of the cucumber and apple just seemed to be calling out to be paired together.  This was the results:

Apple Sandwich

Apple Sandwich

1/2 avocado

Dijon mustard

1/2 apple, cut into centimeter-thick slices

handful of thin cucumber slices

lettuce

optional- a sprinkling of pumpkin seeds

2 pieces of toast.

Mash the avocado and stir in Dijon to taste.  Spread on both pieces of toast.  Assemble the rest of the ingredients onto one slice of toast, and then place the other on top.  Eat immediately.

Don’t be scared of the whole fruit-in-your-sandwich thing; this is absolutely delicious!  It went well with the nice spring weather.

