VeganMoFo III

I was bored of toast, and therefore needed some muffins to go with my breakfast smoothies.  Breakfast is likely my favourite meal, since most breakfast foods are awesome.  Who doesn’t love a meal that can consist of fruit and greens smoothies, pancakes, waffles, oatmeal (you haven’t seen oatmeal until you’ve seen the crazy oatmeal I cook up), muffins, fruit salads, hash browns, and so forth?  I also believe in eating big at the beginning of the day.  Some people would disagree with me, but I find my body likes this system best.  Then, you have the whole day ahead of you to use up the energy from that big meal, whereas if supper is you’re biggest meal, you’ll be going to sleep not that long after eating it.  I also like simultaneous breakfast lunch.  I know, there’s another word for that, but mine’s cooler.

This batch of muffins turned out amazing, and they’re healthy enough to actually be included in my normal everyday breakfast.  No sugar, no wheat flour (although I’ve added wheat germ), no oil, but lots of delicious flavours.  This is a severely altered version of a recipe I found in the Zen Monastery Cookbook; I’ve used the base recipe from their orange pecan muffins for a few different modifications, as its proportions just seem really nice.  I also think the citrus helps to make them rise all lovely-like, and therefore gives them a nice texture.

Oh, and these are made with stevia.  I know, some people aren’t fans.  However, I actually really, really like the taste of the stuff, as long as you add just enough.  Don’t go overboard.  Stevia is strong stuff, and a teaspoon can be as sweet as a cup of sugar.

Blogmuffin

Orange-Blueberry-Banana Breakfast Muffins

-2  1/4 cups light spelt flour

- 1/2 cup wheat germ

- 2 tsp baking powder

- 1 tsp salt

- 1/2 tsp baking soda

- 1/4 tsp white stevia powder

- flax seed for decoration, optional

- banana egg replacer for 2 eggs (mash a banana with 1/2 tsp baking soda.  Usually it’s 1 tsp, but there’s already another 1/2 tsp of baking soda in this recipe.)

- 1 cup orange juice, plus 2 tbsp of orange juice concentrate

- 1 cup blueberries, fresh, or thawed from frozen (or partially thawed, if you forgot to thaw them ahead of time, like me.)

Preheat oven to 375.  Coat muffin tins with non-stick spray or a light coating of oil.

Blend the flour, wheat germ, baking powder, salt, baking soda, and stevia powder together.  In a separate bowl, mix the banana eggs, orange juice, and blueberries.  Mix the wet ingredients into the dry until just blended.  If it seems a little too thick for muffins, add a little more orange juice.

Spoon into muffin tin, and if desired, sprinkle with flax seeds.  Cook for 25 min, until a toothpick comes out clean.

Avocado Cucumber Rolls
Oh, and since I missed blogging yesterday, here’s another quick mini- recipe. Sometimes, if I have leftover rice, I just mix a little rice vinegar, a sprinkle of salt, and a half spoonful of veg-friendly sugar with it to make a dressing for the rice, and use it as though it were sushi.  I know, this may be blasphemy, but to be fair, when I actually make sushi rice, it comes out beautifully.  For these rolls, I added lots of avocado and thinly sliced cucumber, and a little wasabi.  Actually, it was a lot of wasabi…mmmmm.

