Grains.egg by mendicantcrow on Aviary

If I were a zombie… because these are the important things that we discuss.

Recently, I recorded another year of living on this planet.  I’ll leave you to guess my age- suffice it to say, my brain was in seven-year-old mode, so it doesn’t really make a difference.   I was tricked into coming to my own surprise party by all my delightfully crazy friends (they told me we were gonna celebrate Friday the 13th…which could have been fun too).

In culinary-related news, Kiekaisu made me a sushi-themed vegan cake- all on her own!  Yay for omnis who like to learn how to cook vegan.  She has offered to share her creation with the internetz, so I’ll hand you off to Kiekaisu…

Mah Vegan Cake

Sam and the Cake

Sushi Cake

This was a fun cake to make, because the recipe has been altered to the point that it doesn’t look like the original barely at all (I had also considered how to make this gluten free… I will notify when I try it out!) Also, this was my first attempt at making a vegan cake! I may reduce the sugar a little more next time if I were to use the fondant again, but was still good!

¾ cup organic sugar

½ cup earth balance

1 portion Starch-based egg replacer*

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp almond extract

1 ½ cups flour

1 ¾ tsp baking powder

½ cup soy milk

* Starch-based egg replacer recipe (from Goodbaker):

1 Tbsp tapioca or corn starch
1 Tbsp potato starch
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp xanthan gum (if you have it)

– Add a scant 1/2 cup water and 2 tsp oil. Whisk until thoroughly combined and somewhat frothy

DIRECTIONS

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spray a 9×9 inch pan or line a muffin pan with paper liners.

2. In a medium bowl, cream together the sugar and earth balance. Beat in half of the “eggs”, then the second half, then stir in the vanilla and almond. Combine flour and baking powder, add to the creamed mixture and mix well. Finally stir in the soy milk until batter is smooth. Pour or spoon batter into the prepared pan.

3. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes in the preheated oven. For cupcakes, bake 20 to 25 minutes. Cake is done when it springs back to the touch.

I doubled this recipe to get the amount for the cake, which fed 12 people easily. I suggest using some sort of organic jam in between, as the jam won’t spoil as fruit will (fondant and fridge don’t always get along for me)

