…the veg! blog gave to me

Three Almond Cookies,

Two types of ginger,

and a recipe for spritz cookies.

More sweets!  Sweet!  I swear, there will be some savoury recipes in here too!  However, it is cookie baking season.

This one is an old family favourite refurbished.  I remember eating wonderful, intensely nutty, crumbly, peanut butter cookies as a child.  However, not only is our family peanut butter cookie recipe not vegan, I’ve also developed a mild allergy to peanuts (I miss them).  So, I not only set about veganizing this family favourite, but de-peanutting it.

Some notes: First of all, I did not use white flour for this one.  I used a seven-grain blend.  This recipe, because it’s a little more dense, lends itself to the use of healthier flours without anything being lost.  I do not think I would use spelt flour with this recipe, however, because it would make cookies that are too soft.  The second thing that I would like to point out, is that for an egg substitute in this recipe, I used this. I mix the powders ahead of time in large quantities, and keep them in an old tea tin.  Then, when I need it, it’s there!  Very slick.  In the ingredients photo, you can see it in it’s prepared form (because I didn’t want anyone to get confused and add Darjeeling instead of egg replacer).  Lastly, about the molasses and sugar- if you don’t want to buy separate bone-char free sugar and brown sugar, then just add a little molasses into your recipe to replace the molasses content in the brown sugar.  I usually use 1 tsp to 1 cup of sugar.

Almond Butter Cookies


– 1 1/2 cups flour (7 grain or whole wheat should work)

– 3/4 tsp baking soda

– 1/2 tsp baking powder

– 1 c smooth almond butter

– 1/2 c Earth Balance vegan margarine

– 1 c veg-friendly sugar

– 1 tsp molasses

– 1/2 tsp vanilla

– substitute for 1 egg (don’t use banana)

– 1/2 – 3/4 c chocolate chips (optional)

1.) Preheat oven to 375 degrees farenheit.  Lightly grease cookie sheets.

2.) Mix flour, soda, and powder.

3.) In a separate bowl, mix together almond butter, margarine, sugar, molasses, and vanilla until creamy.  Mix in prepared egg substitute.  Add the flour mixture and chocolate chips, and mix until blended.

4.) Roll into balls, and flatten with a fork.  Don’t forget the flattening step.

5.) Bake 12-15 min, or until slightly browned underneath.  Don’t overbake (I overdid one sheet a bit, and they’re very crunchy).

